Business License

Coldstream Business Licences

Business licences are available at the Building Department in the Municipal Hall. Coldstream business licences run from January 1st - December 31st, with payment due on or before February 15th of each year.

Information on Coldstream Business Licences:

In most municipalities in the North Okanagan, a business licence is required to operate a business within the community. A business is generally defined as "the carrying on of a commercial or industrial undertaking of any kind or the providing of professional, personal or other services for the purpose of profit or gain". A business licence must be held by the owner or operator of a business, and in the case of more than one business premise, a separate business licence is required for each location. 

This provision does not apply to any business exempted from the requirement to hold a business licence by operation of any provincial or federal statute or regulation. Non-profit organizations registered under the Society Act are also exempt from acquiring a business licence.

Do you need to register your business in BC? Visit OneStop Business Services
Note: A Coldstream Business Licence Application form must be submitted to the District.

Use BizPaL to access a web-based service that allows business clients to easily generate a customized list of the permits and licences they require from three levels of government - local, provincial and federal - by answering some generic questions about the business.

Inter-Community Business Licences

Inter-Community Business Licence Bylaw No. 1544

Nineteen municipalities in the region have entered into an agreement with one another to permit certain kinds of businesses the option to upgrade to the Inter-Community Business Licence, allowing them to work in all participating communities.

Business owners must have a basic licence in the municipality in which they are located, and request the inter-community add-on for an additional $150.

An Inter-Community Business Licence is valid in each of the following communities:

- Armstrong - Lumby - Salmon Arm
- Central Okanagan Regional District - Oliver - Sicamous
- Coldstream - Osoyoos - Spallumcheen
- Enderby - Peachland - Summerland
- Kelowna - Penticton - Vernon
- Keremeos - Princeton - West Kelowna
- Lake Country    






Frequently Asked Questions

Business Licence FAQ's



The District of Coldstream
9901 Kalamalka Road
Coldstream, BC V1B 1L6
Tel: (250) 545-5304
Fax: (250) 545-4733
Hours of Operation:
Monday to Friday
8:00 am - 4:30 pm
Closed on Statutory Holidays
Powered by CivicWeb CMS - © Copyright 2014 iCompass Technologies Inc.